Advice and answers from the TryHackMe Team

Creating Learning Paths

Updated at January 25th, 2022

The TryHackMe management dashboard gives you the ability to create branded learning paths that align with skill requirements and gives your team personalized training. 

You can either create your own learning path from scratch or clone an existing path developed by TryHackMe.

Clone an Existing Path

To clone an existing TryHackMe learning path, go to your management dashboard and click the "Learning Paths" tab, on this page click the "Create Path" button which will reveal two options. Click the "Existing Path" option, and use the dropdown to select the learning path of your choice.

Each module is also cloned when you clone an existing learning path, allowing you to change all the rooms inside any of the modules in the path. See the "Editing a module" section below for more details on updating modules.

Create a Custom Path

A learning path is made up of modules, and a module is made of rooms (think of a room like a mini security lab). To create a learning path from scratch, you will create your modules and add them to a learning path you create.

Creating a Module

To create a module, click to your management dashboard  and click the "Learning Paths" tab, on this page click the "Modules" tab (on the left-hand side), and click the "Create New Module" button.


When clicking the create module button, a popup will appear. Enter in the following details to create your first module:

  • Title - The name of the module
  • Image - An image representing the category of your module
  • Summary - Information on the modules purpose
  • Rooms- Select the rooms in your module
    • The order of adding your rooms matters
    • The dropdown will include rooms that you've created
    • See these articles for information on creating your own rooms

All module details input are shown on your learning path.

Clicking "Create Module" will save your module, ready to be added to a learning path.

Editing a Module

To edit a module, click on your management dashboard and click the "Learning Paths" tab, on this page click the "Modules" tab (on the left-hand side), this page will show you all the modules you've created. To edit a module, click on the title of the module you're interested in editing.

Any changes you make to a module will update on the learning paths including it. If you've cloned an existing learning path, and are updating a module it will only update your module (not the path you've cloned it from).

Creating a Learning Path

To create your own learning path, go to your management dashboard and click the "Learning Paths" tab, on this page click the "Create Path" button which will reveal two options. Click the "Custom Path" option, which will reveal two input fields:

  • Title - The title of your learning path
  • Description - Information about what the learning path achieves

Clicking "Create Path" will take you to a page where you can edit your learning paths details, and include the modules you created earlier. You can edit the following details:

  • Image- Shown to users when viewing the learning path.
    • We recommend using a company logo or image representing the paths goal.
    • Recommended size is 500x500
  • Description - Information on the learning paths purpose
  • Title - The name of your path
  • Introduction - 1 or 2 sentences introducing the user to the path
  • Modules- Select the modules in your path
    • The order of adding your modules matters
    • The dropdown will include all modules you've created

Sharing a Learning Path

Learning paths are shareable via a link. To get a paths sharing link, go to your management dashboard, click the "Learning Paths" tab and click on a paths title.

For a user to join the path, they will need to be assigned a seat on your management dashboard. Users' progress will only appear if they're currently enrolled in your path; if they've joined another path on TryHackMe, their progress will not show.

Once your management dashboard access expires, every user will be removed from the path. Learning paths are not deleted and will be available when you re-gain access.

Did this article help you?