Creating learning paths
G
Written by Gonzo
Updated over a week ago

The TryHackMe management dashboard allows you to create custom learning paths.

Use case

You don't want a one-size-fits-all approach, but segment or personalize existing content to the needs of groups of teams.

Examples

  • You'd like your new SOC analysts to complete a modified version of the standard TryHackMe SOC Level 1 learning path.

  • Your experienced Red teamers would like to challenge themselves. You therefore created a specific path for them that only has "Insane" difficulty rooms, including several rooms you've created yourself.

You can either create your learning path from scratch or clone an existing path developed by TryHackMe.

Clone an existing path

To clone an existing TryHackMe learning path, go to your management dashboard and click the "Learning Paths" tab; on this page, click the "Create Path" button, revealing two options. Click the "Existing Path" option, and use the dropdown to select the learning path of your choice.

Each module is cloned when you clone an existing learning path, allowing you to change any room inside the path. See the "Editing a module" section for more details on updating modules.

Create a custom path

A learning path consists of modules, which are made of rooms (think of a room as a mini security lab). To create a learning path from scratch, you will create your modules and add them to the learning path you make.

Creating a module

To create a module, click on your management dashboard and click the "Learning Paths" tab; on this page, click the "Modules" tab (on the left-hand side), and click the "Create New Module" button.

When clicking the create module button, a popup will appear. Enter the following details:

  • Title - The name of the module

  • Image - An image representing the category of your module

  • Summary - Information on the module's purpose

  • Rooms- Select the rooms in your module

    • The order of adding your rooms matters

    • The dropdown will include rooms that you've created

    • See these articles for information on creating your rooms

All module details input are shown on your learning path.

Clicking "Create Module" will save your module, ready to be added to a learning path.

Please note that a learning path has a 75-room loading limit; if you exceed this limit, some of your rooms won't be visible.

Editing a module

To edit a module, click on your management dashboard and click the "Learning Paths" tab; on this page, click the "Modules" tab (on the left-hand side); this page will show you all the modules you've created. To edit a module, click on the title you're interested in editing.

Any changes you make to a module will update the learning paths, including it. If you've cloned an existing learning path and are editing a module, it will only update your module (not the path you've cloned it from).

Creating a learning path

To create your learning path, go to your management dashboard and click the "Learning Paths" tab; on this page, click the "Create Path" button, revealing two options. Click the "Custom Path" option, which will display two input fields:

  • Title - The title of your learning path

  • Description - Information about what the learning path achieves

Clicking "Create Path" will take you to a page where you can edit your learning path details and include the modules you created earlier. You can edit the following information:

  • Image- Shown to users when viewing the learning path.

    • We recommend using a company logo or image representing the goal of the path.

    • Recommended size is 500x500.

  • Description - Information on the learning paths purpose

  • Title - The name of your path

  • Introduction - 1 or 2 sentences introducing the user to the path

  • Modules- Select the modules in your path

    • The order of adding your modules matters

    • The dropdown will include all modules you've created.

Sharing a learning path

Learning paths are shareable via a link. To get paths sharing the link, go to your management dashboard, click the "Learning Paths" tab and click on a paths title.

A user must be assigned a seat on your management dashboard to join a path. Users' progress will only appear if they're enrolled in your path; if they've joined another path on TryHackMe, their progress will not show.

Once your management dashboard access expires, it will remove every user from the path. Learning paths are not deleted and will be available when you regain access.

Contact

  • Existing B2B or EDU customer and still have questions? Please contact your Customer Success Manager or Technical Support.

  • Please contact [email protected] if you'd like to explore whether TryHackMe could be a good fit for your organization. Alternatively, book a meeting directly with the Sales team: For Education, For Business

Did this answer your question?